Sienna Miller is The Girl for the TV Baftas as full awards nominations list is released

The Girl, Accused and Last Tango in Halifax lead the nominations for the 2013 Baftas.

Sienna Miller and Toby Jones are up for Leading Actress and Leading Actor respectively for their portrayals of Tippi Hedren and Sir Alfred Hitchcock in BBC TV film The Girl, which tells the story of the director’s alleged obsession with the US actress.

Miller faces stiff competition from Rebecca Hall, Anne Reid and Sheridan Smith, who is up for the accolade for her portrayal of the titular character in Mrs Biggs, which has also been nominated for the Mini-Series prize alongside Parade’s End, Accused and Room at the Top.

Jones is up against Derek Jacobi, Sean Bean and Ben Whishaw for Leading Actor and while Peter Capaldi missed out on a nod for the prize, he has been nominated in the Supporting Actor category for his part in The Hour and Male Performance in a Comedy Programme for The Thick of It.

Olivia Colman also received a brace of nods, Supporting Actress in The Accused and Female Performance in a Comedy Programme for Olympics satire Twenty Twelve, which received four nominations.

The BBC’s coverage of the London Olympics has also been recognised with nominations for the network’s coverage of the Games’ opening ceremony and super Saturday – a day which saw a flurry of gold medals for Team GB – in the Sport and Life Event category alongside Channel 4’s Paralympics coverage and the BBC’s reporting on the Wimbledon men’s tennis final.

Soaps Coronation Street, EastEnders and Emmerdale will take on comedy-drama Shameless – which is currently in its final series – for the Soap and Continuing Drama BAFTA, while Made in Chelsea is once again up for the Reality and Constructed Factual award alongside Young Apprentice, I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here! and The Audience.

The BAFTA TV Awards will take place on Sunday 12 May at the Royal Festival Hall and will be hosted by Graham Norton, who is up for the Entertainment Performance prize alongside Ant and Dec, Alan Carr and Sarah Millican.

Full list of nominations at the official site.